Menu
 
 

COMPANY HISTORY

Airylea Motors has a history stretching back to the early Sixties. The company was founded by James A. Gardiner in 1964. James was born in Cullen in 1928 and after serving his time as a commercial truck mechanic, and doing his national service during the war, he went on to run and work in the business up until retiring in 1994.

The company began its early days in a small workshop built in a converted garage at James’s house. That’s it in the picture below. James continued to run the company from there for the next 14 years, building trade and managing to find time to have a family of five. In the mid-seventies business had expanded to the point that new premises were needed and in 1978 Airylea Motors moved to their present location in Menzies Road in Aberdeen.

After James retired in 1994 two of his sons took over the running of the business. Robert Gardiner joined the business in 1981 and was joined the following year by his brother Findlay. After 12 years gaining a wealth of experience in all manner of fuel injection systems they had the knowledge and ability to take over from their father and to advance the company through the coming years.

In 1997 two buildings were purchased behind the Airylea building and demolished to build a larger workshop, store and vehicle diagnostic / repair facility completed in the year 2000. In late 2012 a 1.15 acre yard and premises were bought in East Tullos industrial estate Aberdeen and has just been completely refurbished, and as of May 2014 the current location of Airylea Motors.

  • birthplace
  • newairyleamotors
12 Greenbank Place
East Tullos
Aberdeen AB12 3BT
United Kingdom

roy.gardiner@airylea.com
Phone: +44 1224 872891

SlideBar